The Bellwether Prize

The Bellwether Prize for Fiction, awarded in even-numbered years, consists of a $25,000 cash payment to the author of the winning manuscript, and guaranteed publication by a major publisher. The author will collect royalties in accordance with a publisher’s contract. The Bellwether Prize is unique; no other major North American endowment or prize for the arts specifically seeks to support a literature of social responsibility. Its intent is to advocate serious literary fiction that addresses issues of social justice and the impact of culture and politics on human relationships. The prize is awarded to a previously unpublished novel representing excellence in this genre.

2016The Leavers, Lisa Ko
2014And West is West, Ron Childress
2012Good Kings Bad Kings, Susan Nussbaum
2010 – Running the Rift, Naomi Benaron
2008 –  The Girl Who Fell From the Sky, Heidi Durrow
2006 – Mudbound, Hillary Jordan
2004Correcting the Landscape, Marjorie Kowalski Cole
2002The Book of Dead Birds, Gayle Brandeis
2000Kissing the Virgin’s Mouth, Donna Gershten