Booker Prize


This literary prize, formerly known as the Booker Prize, is sponsored by the Man Group and the Booker Prize Foundation (BPF) is responsible for its organisation and operation. The Man Booker Prize aims to reward the best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland. The Man Booker judges are selected from the country’s finest critics, writers and academics to maintain the consistent excellence of the prize.

2016 – The Sellout, Paul Beatty
2015A Brief History of Seven Killings, Marlon James
2014 –  The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Richard Flanagan
2013The Luminaries, Eleanor Catton
2012Bring Up the Bodies, Hilary Mantel
2011 – The Sense of an Ending, Julian Barnes
2010 –  The Finkler Question, Howard Jacobson
2009Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel
2008 – The White Tiger, Aravind Adiga
2007The Gathering, Anne Enright
2006 – The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai
2005 – The Sea, John Banville
2004Line of Beauty, Alan Hollinghurst
2003Vernon God Little, DBC Pierre
2002 – Life of Pi, Yann Martel
2001 – True History of the Kelly Gang, Peter Carey
2000 – The Blind Assassin, Margaret Atwood
1999 – Disgrace, J. M. Coetzee
1998 – Amsterdam, Ian McEwan
1997 – The God of Small Things, Arundhati Roy
1996 – Last Orders, Graham Swift
1995 – The Ghost Road, Pat Barker
1994How Late It Was, How Late, James Kelman
1993 – Paddy Clark Ha Ha Ha, Roddy Doyle
1992 – The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje
1992Sacred Hunger, Barry Unsworth
1991The Famished Road, Ben Okri
1990 – Possession, A.S. Byatt
1989 – The Remains of the Day, Kazuo Ishiguro
1988 – Oscar and Lucinda, Peter Carey
1987 – Moon Tiger, Penelope Lively
1986The Old Devils, Kingsley Amis
1985The Bone People, Keri Hulme
1984Hotel du Lac, Anita Brookner
1983 – Life and Times of Michael K., J. M. Coetzee
1982 – Schindler’s List, Thomas Keneally
1981 – Midnight’s Children, Salman Rushdie
1980Rites of Passage, William Golding
1979Offshore, Penelope Fitzgerald
1978The Sea, The Sea, Iris Murdoch
1977Staying On, Paul Scott
1976Saville, David Storey
1975Heat and Dust, Ruth Prawer Jhabvala
1974The Conservationist, Nadine Gordimer
1973The Siege of Krishnapur, J.G. Farrell
1972G., John Berger
1971In a Free State, V. S. Naipaul
1970 – The Elected Member, Bernice Rubens
1969Something to Answer For, P.H. Newby