National Book Critics Circle


The National Book Critics Circle (United States), founded in 1974, consists of nearly 700 active book reviewers, interested in communicating with one another about common concerns.

2016LaRose, Louise Erdrich
2015 – The Sellout, Paul Beatty
2014 – Lila, Marilynne Robinson
2013 – Americanah, Chimamanda Adichie
2012 – Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk, Ben Fountain
2011Binocular Vision, Edith Pearlman
2010 – A Visit From the Goon Squad, Jennifer Egan
2009Wolf Hall, Hilary Mantel
20082666, Roberto Bolano
2007 – The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Junot Diaz
2006 – The Inheritance of Loss, Kiran Desai
2005 – The March, E.L. Doctorow
2004 – Gilead, Marilynne Robinson
2003 – The Known World, Edward P. Jones
2002 – Atonement, Ian McEwan
2001Austerlitz, W.G. Sebald
2000Being Dead, Jim Crace
1999 – Motherless Brooklyn, Jonathan Lethem
1998The Love of a Good Woman, Alice Munro
1997Blue Flower, Penelope Fitzgerald
1996Women in Their Beds, Gina Berriault
1995Mrs. Ted Bliss, Stanley Elkin
1994 – The Stone Diaries, Carol Shields
1993 – A Lesson Before Dying, Ernest J. Gaines
1992 – All the Pretty Horses, Cormac McCarthy
1991 – A Thousand Acres, Jane Smiley
1990Rabbit at Rest, John Updike
1989Billy Bathgate, E.L. Doctorow
1988The Middleman and Other Stories, Bharati Mukherjee
1987The Counterlife, Philip Roth
1986Kate Vaiden, Reynolds Price
1985The Accidental Tourist, Anne Tyler
1984Love Medicine, Louise Erdrich
1983 – Ironweed, William Kennedy
1982George Mills, Stanley Elkin
1981Rabbit is Rich, John Updike
1980The Transit of Venus, Shirley Hazzard
1979The Year of the French, Thomas Flanagan
1978The Stories of John Cheever, John Cheever
1977 – Song of Solomon, Toni Morrison
1976October Light, John Gardner
1975 – Ragtime, E.L. Doctorow